Paperback

Average Goodreads rating

r.r.p £6.99

Why the Whales Came

An exciting historical adventure from War Horse author and former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo.

Gracie and her friend Daniel have always been warned to stay away from the Birdman and his side of the island. But then they find a message in the sand and discover the Birdman is not who they thought. They build up a lovely friendship with him, but when the children get stranded on Samson Island they don’t know whether to believe the birdman’s story that the island is cursed.

Set against the backdrop of the First World War, in the tradition of Friend or Foe and Private Peaceful Michael Morpurgo brings the emotional reality of conflict to life in a way that is accessible to younger readers. Look out for his other historical adventures including An Eagle in the Snow and Listen to the Moon.

 

Author:
Michael Morpurgo
ISBN:
9781405229258
Publication Date:
March 09, 2017
Age Range:
From 10 years