Youtube icon Twitter logo Facebook icon Instagram icon
I have no secrets

For the last in our round up of perfect gifts for children this Christmas, the Egmont Elves recommend their favourite books for teens.

Whether you need a stirring romance, superhero tale with a difference, or dark mystery, the Egmont bookshelves have lots of fantastic YA books for teens and adults alike. Take a look at five of our top picks for gift ideas for teens this Christmas.

books for teens at christmas

 

My Life Next Door

Lindsey Heaven, Editorial Director recommends My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. ‘It may be a summer beach-read classic, but there is nothing better than a feel-good story at Christmas and this gorgeous ‘Boy Next Door’ romance is one of the best. Heart-warming friendships and all the toe-wiggling feels make this the perfect gift for that tricky-to-buy-for teenager in your life at Christmas.’

Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein is a Christmas present choice for teens from Liz Bankes, Commissioning Editor. ‘This is a thrilling, passionate and devastating tale of friendship and courage, set against the backdrop of WW2 and espionage – it’s a gift for readers who want something to absolutely sweep them away on those winter nights. Like one of those enthralling Christmas BBC dramas – in book form!’

books for teens at christmas

Grasshopper Jungle

Commissioning Editor Liz Bankes also suggests Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. ‘This really is a YA novel unlike any other – it’s genre-bending, ground-breaking, funny, sad, complex, brave and completely unforgettable. A great gift for fans of John Green, Michael Grant or Stephen King looking for something new and (more than) a bit different! Warning: contains six-foot tall praying mantises.’

Monster

Amy St Johnston, Managing Editor, proposes Monster by Michael Grant as a great book for teenagers. ‘It’s the book all GONE fans have been waiting for. When the dome came down, they thought it was the end of the troubles. Truth is, it was just the beginning. Shade Darby witnessed events that day, with devastating consequences, and vowed never to feel that powerless again. Now, four years later, she gets her hands on a part of the meteor that began it all – and that’s when she changes. Trouble is, Shade’s not the only one mutating, and the authorities cannot allow these superpowers to go unchecked… A thrilling read for boys and girls alike.’

I Have No Secrets

Carnegie longlisted I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson comes recommended by Liz Bankes, Commissioning Editor. ‘This gripping story, told from a startlingly different viewpoint, will really stay with you. The narrator, Jemma, has cerebral palsy – she knows the identity of a murderer, but she can’t tell anyone. As well as taking you inside Jemma’s head, the tension of the plot will keep you gripped to the end. It’s a great gift for fans of books like Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – and those who want to spend the Christmas holidays wrapped up in a page-turning thriller!’

You can browse the Electric Monkey bookshelves to discover more fantastic books for teens this Christmas.

Read our Christmas 2017 Gift Guides: