Youtube icon Twitter logo Facebook icon Instagram icon
Portrait image of author Penny Joelson

This year the theme of World Book Day is ‘Share a Story’. To celebrate, we asked author Penny Joelson what books she most likes to give to other people.

Share a story for ten minutes on World Book Day

Penny Joelson’s stunning novel I Have No Secrets is one of five fantastic YA novels included in this year’s World Book Day, which this year is encouraging people to Share a Story.

We asked Penny what books she has read that make her want to say ‘You must read this!’ to someone.

Letters from the Lighthouse by Emma Carroll

I’d give this book to any child aged 8-12.

It is a historical drama/ mystery involving children evacuated during World War 2 and a mysteriously missing sister.

I read it to my nine year old son and we both loved it.

I cried at the end!

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

This is a YA book that I’d give to anyone aged 11+.

Reading from the viewpoint of a girl whose memories don’t last more than a day was fascinating and I loved the book.

 

 

Read Me 1: Poems for Every Day of the Year (edited by Gaby Morgan)

A lovely collection of poems for children of all ages – perfect bedtime/ family reading!

I’d give this to any child!

 

Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World by Kate Pankhurst

This is a non-fiction picture book, beautifully presented with fascinating information about amazing women in history from Jane Austen to Frida Kahlo and Marie Curie.

I would give it to any primary school aged child.

Kate Pankhurst has a distant family connection to Emmeline Pankhurst and says ‘Emmeline Pankhurst was, wait for it … my great, great, grandfather’s, brother’s, son’s wife. So while I can’t claim to have suffragette blood running in my veins, I can say that Emmeline’s astounding story has followed me all my life and has undoubtedly influenced my work.’

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

This is a beautiful adult book that teenagers might enjoy too, as the protagonist is a teenager at the start.

I was fully immersed in the world of the story about a boy dealing with grief and finding his place in the world.

I would give this to any adult who loves a strong story.

 

 

About I Have No Secrets

World Book Day Cover image for I Have No Secrets by Penny JoelsonFourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, I Have No Secrets is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of Wonder, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.

I Have No Secrets has just been shortlisted for the Children’s Book Award 2018.

Penny Joelson began working with disabled people when she was a teenager, which gave her the inspiration and insight for this book. She teaches creative writing and lives in London with her family. Follow Penny on Twitter @pennyjoelson.

About World Book Day

Illustrated World Book Day booksWorld Book Day is a celebration! It’s a celebration of authors, illustrators, books and (most importantly) it’s a celebration of reading. In fact, it’s the biggest celebration of its kind, designated by UNESCO as a worldwide celebration of books and reading, and marked in over 100 countries all over the world.

Egmont Publishing have two books in the 2018 World Book Day giveaways – I Have No Secrets and My Book About Me by Mr Silly.

Find out more on the World Book Day website.