Youtube icon Twitter logo Facebook icon Instagram icon
Electric Monkey Christmas Competition

Wow, what a year it’s been for YA readers! As Christmas swiftly approaches, we take a look at some of our biggest hitters in 2018.

Whether you need a stirring romance, superhero tale with a difference, dark mystery, or timely feminist masterpiece, we’ve got something for every reader. Here’s a hearty selection of great gift ideas for teens this Christmas.

Electric Monkey Christmas Competition

A Very Large Expanse of Sea

A Very Large Expanse of SeaNew York Times bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s A Very Large Expanse of Sea is a powerful, heartrending contemporary YA novel about fear, first love, and the devastating impact of prejudice.

Set a year after the September 11th terrorist attacks in America, we follow Sharin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped. Starting yet another new high school, Sharin drowns the frustrations of daily intolerance in music and break-dancing with her brother. That is until she meets Ocean James…

This is a must-have gift for fans of Mafi’s other masterworks, the Shatter Me series, Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give, and Nicola Yoon’s The Sun is Also a Star.

 

The Poet X

The Poet XWinner of a National Book Award and a Goodreads Choice finalist, slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo’s powerful and unforgettable novel The Poet X has been tearing up the rulebook the world over.

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

The Poet X is the YA novel of the moment and the perfect Christmas read for fans of Rupi Kaur and Sarah Crossan’s One.

Villain

VillainFans of the bestselling GONE series listen up! Internationally acclaimed author Michael Grant has just delivered yet another stunning follow-up.

Villain is the second in a new series that picks-up the story where the Gone series left off. Following the events of last year’s hit Monster, this time we join Dillon Poe who after acquiring a new set of superpowers has to make some very difficult moral choices.

With the ability to control anyone with the power of his voice, Dekka, Shade, Cruz, Malik Armo and a new mutant with unmatched powers are all that stands in Dillon’s way.

 

The Exact Opposite of Okay

The Exact Opposite of OkayLaura Steven’s hilarious, groundbreaking YA novel is the perfect gift for anyone who’s ever called themselves a feminist….and anyone who still hasn’t!

When explicit photos of her and politician’s son are published online, Izzy O’Neill quickly finds herself at the centre of an international media storm. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off – but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It’s the Exact Opposite of Okay.

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. Perfect for readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo

Someday

SomedayIf you were desperate to find out what happens next with A and Rhiannon, the wait is finally over! New York Times bestselling author David Levithan has just dropped his long-awaited sequel to the smash hit Every Day.

For as long as A can remember, life has meant waking up in a different person’s body every day, forced to live as that person until the day has ended. A always thought there wasn’t anyone else who was like this. A was wrong.

Someday starts where Every Day left off. David Levithan takes readers further into the lives of A and Rhiannon, exploring more deeply what Every Day and Another Day had originally asked: What is a soul? What makes us human? And does gender matter when it comes to love?

 

Dogchild

DogchildJeet was raised by a pack of wild dogs. Recaptured and ‘rehumanised’, Jeet now lives with the last of his people in an ancient walled town in the vast expanse of the Deathlands, besieged by a much larger enemy clan. They are preparing for the final battle and it’s Jeet’s task to record the events. But Jeet is struggling to come to terms with his half-human, half-dog identity.

Can the impending conflict, and his relationship with another rehumanised dogchild, shed any light on what it takes to be a survivor?

Dogchild is the latest gripping thriller from award-winning author Kevin Brooks and a perfect read for fans of Patrick Ness, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Grant’s GONE series.

Girl in the Window

Girl in the Window2018 saw the release of a brand-new YA novel from Penny Joelson, author of last year’s award-winning hit I Have No Secrets.

Nothing ever happens on Kasia’s street. And Kasia would know, because her illness makes her spend days stuck at home, watching the world from her bedroom window. So when she sees what looks like a kidnapping, she’s not sure whether she can believe her own eyes…

There was a girl in the window opposite – did she see something too? But when Kasia goes to find her she is told the most shocking thing of all: there is no girl.

Girl in the Window is an eye-opening and compulsive page-turner, perfect for YA readers who like more than a little suspense and intrigue.

Restore Me

Restore MeThis book needs no introduction to Shatter Me fans. The fourth incredible instalment of Tehereh Mafi’s bestselling YA fantasy series has finally arrived.

Juliette Ferrars thought she’d won. She took over Sector 45, was named Supreme Commander, and now has Warner by her side. But when tragedy strikes, she must confront the darkness that dwells both around and inside her.

Restore Me is a Christmas must have for readers of Sarah J. Maas, Victoria Aveyard’s The Red Queen, Stranger Things and Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows.

 

The Long Forever

The Long ForeverThe concluding instalment of Eugene Lambert’s brilliant Sign of One trilogy The Long Forever packs just as much punch (if not more) as its predecessors and will be sure to delight any YA science fiction fan over Christmas.

Kyle and Sky may have fled Wrath but they are now marooned on a vast space station known as the Ark, working for a criminal gang of traffickers. Kyle hates the brutality, but the gangster high-life has tempting compensations for someone who grew up with nothing in the Barrenlands. Sky’s health is deteriorating as she finally tracks down her sister, Tarn, but their reunion is far from smooth.

When their Wrath past finally catches up with them, an encounter with the ruthless ComSec authorities leaves Kyle facing the cruellest choice of his young life. To save himself and his nublood species, he must risk losing Sky forever…

Read our Christmas 2018 Gift Guides: