Youtube icon Twitter logo Facebook icon Instagram icon

As a leading children’s publisher, encouraging more children to enjoy reading drives everything that we do at Egmont. With our wonderfully broad range of books, magazines and YA novels we hope to inspire all children to become proud and enthusiastic readers.

But we can’t do it alone.

It is with this in mind that we would like to celebrate the triumphant teachers who successfully promote children’s reading for pleasure, both within and beyond the classroom. To do so we are partnering up with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association to present the Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards!

The Open University and the UK Literary Association have worked together to research the significance of teachers being readers, and ways to build active, excited communities of young readers. As well as reward amazing teachers, both organisations are keen to profile and develop research in this area.

Entrants will be asked to submit a research-informed case study on how you have encouraged children to read for pleasure including details of context, research inspiration and rationale, aims, outline, evidence of impact and reflection. For full terms and details of entry criteria and submissions, please visit the UK Literacy Association website or click here.

The Reading for Pleasure Awards will be judged by:

  • Michael Rosen, children’s novelist and poet
  • Teresa Cremin, Professor of Eduction, The Open University
  • David Reedy, General Secretary, ULKA
  • Joy Court, Chair: CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals Reviews, Editor: The School Librarian Journal
  • Cally Poplak, Managing Director, Egmont Publishing
  • Alison David, Consumer Insight Director, Egmont Publishing

The awards will be announced on 22 March 2018 at the OU/UKLA/BERA Reading for Pleasure Conference in London with the winners of each category receiving Egmont books to the value of £250 for their school and 20 copies of Help Your Child Love Reading by Alison David for their school.

The deadline for submissions is midnight on 15 January 2018.

For more information on this wonderful initiative please visit: