Youtube icon Twitter logo Facebook icon Instagram icon

Paperback

Average Goodreads rating

r.r.p £8.99

The Box of Delights

'And now, Master Harker, now that the Wolves are Running, perhaps you could do something to stop their Bite?'

A magical old man has asked Kay to protect the Box of Delights, a Box with which he can travel through time. But Kay is in danger: Abner Brown will stop at nothing to get his hands on it. The police don't believe Kay, so when his family and the Bishop are scrobbled up just before Christmas, he knows he must act alone . . .

John Masefield’s classic children’s book is considered to be one of the great works of modern children’s fiction. Magical, fantastical and filled with vivid, rich characters – brought to life in this edition by Quentin Blake’s stunning artwork – The Box of Delights and its sequel The Midnight Folk are a must-read for any child. A genuine fantasy classic in the tradition of Peter Pan, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland or The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. A wonderful book for early readers aged 8 and up.

‘Two of the greatest children’s books ever written’ – The Times on The Box of Delights and The Midnight Folk.

Author:
John Masefield
Illustrated by:
Quentin Blake
ISBN:
9781405275521
Publication Date:
March 10, 2014
Age Range:
From 10 years