Paperback

r.r.p £6.99

The Wind Singer

The first book in William Nicholson's award-winning fantasy adventure series, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Mortal Engines and Star Wars. 

‘Gloriously cinematic and completely enthralling’ – Independent

This Modern Classic edition contains special bonus material. 

I hate school! I hate ratings! I won't reach higher! I won't strive harder! I won't make tomorrow better than today!

In the walled city state of Aramanth, rules are everything. When Kestrel Hath dares to rebel, the Chief Examiner humiliates her father and sentences the whole family to the harshest punishment. Desperate to save them, Kestrel learns the secret of the wind singer, and she and her twin brother, Bowman, set out on a terrifying journey to the true source of evil that grips Aramanth . . .

'In terms of imagination and sheer scale, it's as ambitious as books get . . . think Star Wars and then some' – Daily Telegraph

Fantasy books for children don’t get more spectacular than The Wind Singer. William Nicholson’s Wind on Fire trilogy has been translated into over 25 languages and won prizes including the Blue Peter Book Award and Smarties Prize Gold Award. One of the greatest writers of our time, William Nicholson has not only sold millions of children’s books worldwide, but has also written for the screen and the stage, including the Oscar-winning film Gladiator and the BAFTA-winning play Shadowlands.

Author:
William Nicholson
ISBN:
9781405285315
Publication Date:
April 06, 2017
Age Range:
From 7 years